Skip navigation

People always ask me what I eat.  Even Mike, my blog’s main only fan, said he wanted to see my “healthy food”. OK, here is a typical snack/light lunch.

1.  Start with the best yogurt you can find.

(This doesn’t include Dannon or really anything that comes from the grocery store.  I get mine at a lovely cheese store in Carroll Gardens aptly named Stinky Brooklyn.  Cheese shops have high-end, local dairy products. This yogurt is from Evan’s Farmhouse Creamery (upstate NY).  I love the lemon flavor, it’s just AMAZING; subtle and sweet.  Their milk is also great…cream on top, delicious.  Yes…you pay more for these products but no…they are not as expensive as your trips to the doctor if you keep eating grocery store junk. 🙂  )

2.  Add some fruit – I love berries.

3.  Toast your nuts!!

(It’s easy if you use a toaster oven.  I toasted these shelled pistachios (buy them shelled in a container, they may seem expensive but all you need is a handful, the container will last a long time!).  They are nutritious and delicious.  3 minutes on a pan in the toaster oven makes them crunchy and enhances their pistachio-ness.  Toast all your nuts – trust me they are much better! – then chop them or eat whole.  3-4 minutes will do it, you’ll know it’s time to pull them out if you can smell a nutty aroma, then move FAST, they burn in a flash.)

4.  Survey your pantry for any nutritious bonus add-ons.

(I sprinkled a bit of unsweetened coconut over my masterpiece…just because I had it leftover from a recipe and I’m trying to use it up.  Necessity is the mother of delicious invention.)

What snacks do you eat that are quick, easy and nutritious?  I love to hear your ideas.  xoxo

